Raytheon has implemented a Public Key Infrastructure (PKI) to provide identity and encryption services which enable the exchange of secured and authenticated data with our customers, partners and suppliers worldwide.

Raytheon is a founding partner of the CertiPath© PKI Bridge (the Aerospace Industry PKI Bridge). Raytheon operates a Certification Authority (CA) to facilitate cross-certification with the CertiPath© Bridge Certification Authority (CBCA) for interoperations among Aerospace PKIs. Raytheon is cross-certified with the CertiPath© PKI Bridge. The CertiPath© PKI Bridge is cross-certified to the Federal PKI Bridge.

The Raytheon PKI issues X.509 version 3 certificates for public-key cryptography. The certificate identifies the individual named in the certificate and binds that person to a particular public/private key pair. The Raytheon PKI defines five certificate policies that represent the medium-software, medium-CBP*-software, medium-hardware, medium-CBP*-hardware, and high-hardware assurance levels for public key certificates. The word "assurance" indicates to what level a Relying Party can be certain of the identity binding between the public key and the individual whose subject name is cited in the certificate.

Services the Raytheon PKI supports:

  • Secure Email
  • Secure File Transfer
  • Authentication to Web Sites
  • Digital Signatures / non-repudiation for documents

For more information about the CertiPath© Bridge (CBCA) or the Federal Bridge (FBCA), please visit the web site.

Raytheon also participates in the Department of Defense (DoD) External Certificate Authority (ECA) program. Some Raytheon employees may also have an ECA certificate that will be phased out upon certificate expiration.

*CBP - Commercial Best Practices